Megadeth Returns With New Fiery Song, Officially Announces Album

Finally, after years of promises, Megadeth has officially announced their new album, The sick, the dying… and the dead!“With this news comes a music video for ‘We’ll Be Back,’ the closing track of what will serve as the band’s 16th studio album.

The action-packed short titled “We’ll Be Back: Chapter I” traces the origins of Megadeth mascot Vic Rattlehead and was produced by Dave Mustaine. A press release describes it as “a soldier’s story of bravery, personal sacrifice and the will to survive” and is the first in a planned trilogy of videos related to the new record.

Years in the making, the record was stalled when Mustaine was diagnosed with throat cancer in 2019 and again in 2021 following the ousting of bassist David Ellefson amid a video scandal. It was recently revealed that Testament’s Steve DiGiorgio has been named to replace Ellefson’s previously recorded parts on the disc, which will be Megadeth’s first since 2016. dystopiawhich earned the band a Grammy win for Best Metal Performance for the title track.

In the months that followed, bassist James Lomenzo was recruited back into the band’s live lineup, and on May 31, Megadeth announced that he was now a permanent member of the band.

The sick, the dying… and the dead! is a historic Megadeth album, not only because of Mustaine’s triumph over cancer, but also because it marks the studio debut of drummer Dirk Verbeuren, who joined in 2016 in place of the former flayer of Lamb of God Chris Adler, who played on dystopia and parted ways with the band the same year it came out.

Watch the music video for “We’ll Be Back” directly below. Look for The sick, the dying… and the dead! to be released on September 2 via UMe and pre-order your copy of the new disc here.

Megadeth, “We’ll Be Back” Music Video

Megadeth, The sick, the dying… and the dead! Album cover + track list

01. “The sick, the dying… and the dead”
02. “Life in Hell”
03. “Night Stalker” (with Ice T)
04. “Chernobyl Dogs”
05. “Sacrifice”
06. “Drugged”
07. “Psychopathy”
08. “Killing Time”
09. “Soldier on the march!”
10. “Celebrating”
11. “Mission to Mars”
12. “We’ll be back”

The “Big 4” of 17 metal subgenres

Everyone knows the “Big 4” of thrash metal, but what about other styles of metal?

Previous Machine Head Unveils New Song And Video "UNHALLØWED"
Next Watch The Wombats Cover Kate Bush's 'Running Up That Hill'