Yakuza to start recording first new studio album in ten years


Official press release:

Yakuza from Chicago will start recording his long awaited and still untitled new studio album!

The group will enter Palisades Studio with engineer Sanford Parker (Yob, Voivod) later this month. The recording will be completed and mixed at Parker’s Hypercube studios. Scheduled for worldwide release in spring 2022, the record follows their critical praise Beyul sold out (2012) and marks Yakuza’s first official studio release in ten years!

Offer to singer / saxophonist Bruce Lamont:

“Ten years! You would think a lot has changed, well some have changed and some haven’t. The tight, heavy, hairpin tempo changes are still here, now adding more bass thanks to the bassist current Jerome Marshall This new batch of tracks is a good mix of weird and riffy and we couldn’t be happier with how it all came together.

Adds bassist Jerome Marshall:

“It’s a return to form since the origins of the group. A return to heavy post-metal avant-garde chaos influenced by jazz with the structural balance of intrinsic order.

The record will be released in North America through Lamont and Parker’s joint brand, War Crime Recordings, with Svart Recordings managing Europe and beyond.

In related news, War Crime Recordings will re-release the Yakuza catalog on a limited-edition LP in the coming months. The first is that of 2012 Beyul which has never been available on vinyl before.

Lamont comments:

“At War Crime Recordings, we’ve been planning for several years to re-release all Yakuza LPs that haven’t been released, and then re-release those that did. Beyul was an obvious first choice. Originally released in 2012 via Profound Lore, this reissue is a unique LP gatefold edition. The mastering of the LP was done in 2012 by Colin Jordon and we couldn’t be more pleased with the result. Then…Path of the dead! ”

Limited to 200 copies on translucent brown vinyl, order Beyul here.

Yakuza is:

  • James Staffel – drums
  • Matt Mcclelland – guitar, vocals
  • Jerome Marshall – bass, vocals
  • Bruce Lamont – vocals, saxophones


Previous What is a no credit check loan?
Next Tyler Bates Teams Up With Former Members Of The Dillinger Escape Plan On New Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack Track "Now You've Really Done It"

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.